21.—Legislatures and Premiers of Saskatchewan 1934-58 and Ministry as at Sept. 1, 1958 Legislatures 1934-581

Date of Election		Legislature	Number of Sessions	Date of First Opening	Date of Dissolution
June 19,	1934	8th	4	Nov. 15, 1934	May 14, 1938
June 8,	1938	9th	6	Jan. 19, 1939	May 10, 1944
June 15,	1944	10th	5	Oct. 19, 1944	May 19, 1948
June 24,	1948	11th	5	Feb. 10, 1949	May 7, 1952
June 11,	1952	12th	4	Feb. 12, 1953	Apr. 25, 1956
June 20,	1956	13th	2	Feb. 14, 1957	2

¹ The Ministries from 1934-58 were: 6th Ministry sworn in July 19, 1934, under the leadership of Hon. J. G. Gardiner; 7th Ministry sworn in Nov. 1, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. W. J. Patterson; 8th Ministry sworn in July 10, 1944, under the leadership of Hon. T. C. Douglas. ² Life of Legislature not expired at Sept. 1, 1958.

Eighth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 20, 1956: 36 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 14 Liberals and 3 Social Credit.)

NOTE.-See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, President of the Council and Minister of Co-operation and Co-operative Development. Provincial Treasurer. Minister of Mineral Resources. Minister of Highways and Transportation. Minister of Highways and Transportation. Minister of Jeducation. Minister of Auricipal Affairs. Minister of Labour and Minister of Tele- phones. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Social Welfare and Rehabilitation Minister of Natural Resources. Attorney General and Provincial Secretary. Minister of Travel and Information. Minister of Public Health. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Public Works.	Hon. T. C. DOUGLAS Hon. C. M. FINES Hon. J. H. BROCKELBANK Hon. W. S. LLOYD Hon. L. F. MCINTOSH Hon. C. C. WILLIAMS Hon. T. J. BENTLEY Hon. T. J. BENTLEY Hon. R. A. WALKER Hon. R. BROWN Hon. R. BROWN Hon. J. W. ERB Hon. J. W. ERB Hon. J. W. STURDY	July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 Feb. 26, 1945 Nov. 14, 1949 Oct. 24, 1952 July 27, 1956 July 27, 1956 Aug. 31, 1956 July 10, 1944	(July 10, 1944 (Nov. 14, 1949 July 10, 1944 Apr. 1, 1953 July 10, 1944 July 10, 1944 (July 10, 1944 (July 27, 1956 (July 27, 1956 (July 27, 1956 (July 27, 1956 (Apr. 1, 1957) July 27, 1956 Apr. 31, 1956 July 27, 1956

Subsection 9.—Alberta

The Government of the Province of Alberta is composed of the Lieutenant-Governor, the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly. The Honourable Dr. John J. Bowlen, Lieutenant-Governor at Sept. 1, 1958, was commissioned to office Feb. 1, 1950. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 96.

There are 61 members of the Legislative Assembly who are elected for a maximum period of five years.

The salary of the Premier is \$13,000 and of a Cabinet Minister \$10,000. Special allowances are paid as follows: the Speaker \$2,500; the Deputy Speaker \$1,500; and the Leader of the Opposition \$2,500. The sessional indemnity for each Member of the Legislative Assembly is \$2,400, plus an expense allowance of \$1,200, plus a subsistence allowance (for Members residing outside Edmonton) of \$15 for each day during the session that a member is necessarily absent from his permanent place of residence.